UNIcert®

WHAT IS UNICERT®?

UNIcert® has been an internationally protected trademark in the field of education since 1992 under the auspices of the Working Group of Language Centres (AKS) and designates an task-based, university-related training and certification system for foreign languages at German universities.

Currently, around 50 German as well as four foreign universities are accredited for UNIcert®.

UNIcert® enables cross-institutional language training through the mutual guaranteed recognition of certificates among accredited universities. Here, language training is inseparably linked to the certification of language skills. This means that a UNIcert® examination without prior language training within the UNIcert® programme is not possible. The recognition of a general UNIcert®-framework across languages allows for more transparency and a higher degree of standardized lesson and test content. As course and examination content directly refer to university contexts, UNIcert® -courses are clearly distinguished from the language courses offered by private providers, to the advantage of the students.

LEVELS OF THE UNICERT®-LANGUAGE-TRAINING

The UNIcert® training and certification system comprises a total of five levels which build on each other and are oriented towards levels A2 to C2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). At the levels UNIcert® II to UNIcert® IV, an additional distinction can be made between a general language and a technical language training line.

  • UNIcert® Basis (propaedeutic preliminary stage) - is oriented towards A2
  • UNIcert® I - is oriented towards B1
  • UNIcert® II - is oriented towards B2
  • UNIcert® III - is oriented towards C1
  • UNIcert® IV - is oriented towards C2

UNICERT® PROGRAMME AT THE LEIBNIZ LANGUAGE CENTRE

The Leibniz Language Centre currently offers students at Leibniz Universität Hannover UNIcert® training and certification in eleven foreign languages and at a total of 22 levels. The selection of these languages is closely related to the focus regions of Leibniz Universität Hannover. Which courses are accredited for UNIcert® training can be found on the pages for the respective languages. In addition, a complete catalogue is available for download as a PDF document.

SCOPE AND DURATION OF A UNICERT®-LANGUAGE-TRAINING

The amount of language training may vary between languages and UNIcert® levels. For languages whose acquisition is more time-intensive from experience (for example, due to learning a new writing system), a higher number of semester hours per week (SWS) must be assumed. The following table shows the number of hours for the languages and UNIcert® levels offered at the Leibniz Language Centre.

LanguageLevelSWSSWS total
ChineseBasis1616cumulative
German as a foreign languageBasis88cumulative
German as a foreign language  IBasis + 412cumulative
EnglishII (spez.)(with lateral entry to B1) + 88cumulative
FrenchBasis88cumulative
in planning: FrenchIBasis + 412cumulative
ItalianBasis88cumulative
ItalianIBasis + 412cumulative
JapaneseBasis1616cumulative
PortugueseBasis88cumulative
Portuguese  IBasis + 412cumulative
RussianBasis1616cumulative
SwedishBasis84cumulative
SwedishIBasis + 412cumulative
SpanishBasis88cumulative
Spanish  IBasis + 412cumulative
Spanish  III + 820cumulative
in planning: TurkishBasis88cumulative
in planning: TurkishI (gen./HL)Basis + 412cumulative
in planning: TurkishII (HL)I + 820cumulative

SCOPE OF THE UNICERT®-TESTS

At the Leibniz Language Centre, the acquisition of UNIcert® certificates is exclusively cumulative. This means that the examination achievements that must be acquired to obtain a level certificate can be collected through successful participation in the end-of-semester examinations ("Schein") in the courses specially accredited for the UNIcert® training programme. There are two main points to bear in mind:

Firstly, all relevant skills must be covered by the cumulatively acquired examination credits. This means that examination performances must be submitted in

  • reading comprehension,
  • listening comprehension,
  • written expression, and
  • oral expression

All four skills are weighted equally. The certificate grade is thus the arithmetic mean of the four individual assessments. In general language courses, the assessment of oral performance can be based on participation in class. Information on this can be obtained from the respective course instructor. Secondly, the period between the first and the last examination performance acquired should not exceed a period of two years.

More detailed information can be found in the  LLC's UNIcert® regulations of the Leibniz Language Centre. As soon as all requirements for obtaining a UNIcert® level certificate have been fulfilled, an  certification application can be submitted to the UNIcert® examination board. 

TRANSFERS INTO THE TRAINING PROGRAMME

A transfer into the training programme is generally possible. However, certain requirements must be met.

Transfer to German (as foreign language), English and Spanish

Applicants must complete a placement test in German (as foreign language), English or Spanish, respectively, before choosing a suitable language course. The UNIcert® entrance level will be determined according to the results of the placement test. If an applicant wishes to acquire a UNIcert® certifacte at that level, they need to have completed at least 50% of the course requirements at the Leibniz Language Centre prior to the certification application.

Example: A student wishes to complete a Spanish certificate at UNIcert® -level I (equivalent to CEFR-level B1). The placement test has shown that the student has already acquired a B1-level. Hence, the student does not need to complete the normally required 8 hours per week. The student now needs to complete at least 2 hours per semester at the Leibniz Language Centre of the total 4 hours per semester in order to apply for a certificate at level UNIcert® I. It should be noted that accredited courses may only be attended to the extent advertised. Students may not partake in “half a course” to complete the requirements.

Tranfers to all other languages

For all other languages student may transfer into the training programme with a proof/certificate of their level or after having taken a placement test. These proofs/certificates may be:

  • certificates from previously taken courses at the Leibniz Language Centre
  • certificates from UNIcert®-accredited courses at the Leibniz Language Centre (not older than two years)
  • certificates from other UNIcert®-accredited universities and colleges
  • placement test with a result just below the UNIcert® course to be taken (not older than six months)
  • Please note the special regulations for French.

For the third and fourth option, the UNIcert® audit committee (option 3) or the coordination of the respective language (option 4) needs to verify the proofs and decide in the individual case. Students do not own the right to have other previously acquired certificates/levels accredited.

We compiled a list with suitable online placement tests from external providers.

COSTS OF THE TRAINING AND CERTIFICATION

Participation in a UNIcert® accredited course is free of charge for students of Leibniz University Hannover. Course participation involves the acquisition of a certificate. A distinction is made here between two types of certificate: a certificate of attendance and a certificate of achievement. For the subsequent application for the issue of a UNIcert® certificate, the submission of corresponding certificates of achievement is obligatory. An administrative fee is charged for the issuing of a UNIcert® certificate, the amount of which can be found in the fee schedule of the Leibniz Language Centre in its most current version. 

 

WHERE IS UNICERT® RECOGNIZED?

There is an agreement between the accredited UNIcert® institutions for mutual recognition within the framework of the training and certification system. Currently, around 50 educational institutions in Germany and four more in (neighbouring) countries are accredited for UNIcert® (as of August 2019).

However, there is no obligation for recognition among the institutions within the framework of language-based university admission. Whether UNIcert® is accepted as a suitable language certificate in the context of an application for a place at university can be enquired about at the respective university.

APPLICATION FOR A UNICERT®-CERTIFICATE

As soon as you have cumulatively collected all the required credits from accredited UNIcert® courses in accordance with the currently valid  UNIcert® training and testing regulations of the Leibniz Language Centre, you can have your acquired university-specific language skills confirmed by a corresponding UNIcert® level certificate.

UNIcert®-Certificate

UNIcert®

WAS IST UNICERT®?

UNIcert® ist eine seit 1992 international geschützte Marke im Ausbildungsbereich unter der Schirmherrschaft des Arbeitskreises der Sprachenzentren (AKS) und bezeichnet ein handlungsorientiertes, hochschulbezogenes Ausbildungs- und Zertifizierungssystem für Fremdsprachen an deutschen Hochschulen.

Derzeit sind etwa 50 deutsche sowie vier ausländische Hochschulen für UNIcert® akkreditiert.

UNIcert® ermöglicht durch die gegenseitige garantierte Anerkennung von Zertifikaten unter den akkreditierten Hochschulen eine institutionsübergreifende Sprachausbildung. Die Sprachausbildung ist hierbei untrennbar mit der Zertifizierung von Sprachkenntnissen verbunden. Das bedeutet, eine UNIcert®-Prüfung ohne vorherige Sprachausbildung im Rahmen des UNIcert®-Programms ist nicht möglich. Die sprachübergreifende Einhaltung einer übergeordneten UNIcert®-Rahmenordnung sorgt für mehr Transparenz und für einen höheren Grad an Standardisierung in den Unterrichts- und Prüfungsinhalten. Durch den direkten Hochschulbezug der Kurs- und Prüfungsinhalte findet zum Vorteil der Studierenden eine deutliche Abgrenzung zu den Sprachkursangeboten privater Anbietender statt.  

NIVEAUSTUFEN IM RAHMEN DER UNICERT®-SPRACHAUSBILDUNG

Das Ausbildungs- und Zertifizierungssystem nach UNIcert® umfasst insgesamt fünf aufeinander aufbauende Stufen, die sich an den Stufen A2 bis C2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER) orientieren.

Auf den Niveaustufen UNIcert® II bis UNIcert® IV kann zusätzlich zwischen einer allgemeinsprachlichen und einer fachsprachlichen Ausbildungslinie unterschieden werden.

  • UNIcert® Basis (propädeutische Vorstufe) - orientiert sich an A2
  • UNIcert® I - orientiert sich an B1
  • UNIcert® II - orientiert sich an B2
  • UNIcert® III - orientiert sich an C1
  • UNIcert® IV - orientiert sich an C2

UNICERT®-ANGEBOT AM LEIBNIZ LANGUAGE CENTRE

Das Leibniz Language Centre bietet Studierenden der Leibniz Universität Hannover derzeit eine UNIcert®-Ausbildung und Zertifizierung in elf Fremdsprachen und auf insgesamt 19 Niveaustufen an. Die Auswahl dieser Sprachen steht in engem Bezug zu den Schwerpunktregionen der Leibniz Universität Hannover.  

Welche Kurse für die Ausbildung nach UNIcert® akkreditiert sind, kann den Seiten zu den jeweiligen Sprachen entnommen werden. Zusätzlich steht ein Gesamtkatalog im PDF-Format zum Download zur Verfügung.

UMFANG EINER SPRACHAUSBILDUNG NACH UNICERT®

Der Umfang der Sprachausbildung kann zwischen den Sprachen und UNIcert®-Stufen variieren. Bei Sprachen, deren Erwerb erfahrungsgemäß (zum Beispiel durch das Erlernen eines neuen Schriftsystems) zeitintensiver ist, muss von einer höheren Anzahl an Semesterwochenstunden (SWS) ausgegangen werden. Die folgende Tabelle zeigt die Stundenumfänge für diejenigen Sprachen und UNIcert®-Stufen, die am Leibniz Language Centre angeboten werden. 

SpracheStufeSWSSWS insgesamtLeistungserwerb
ChinesischBasis1616kumulativ
Deutsch als FremdspracheBasis88kumulativ
Deutsch als Fremdsprache  IBasis + 412kumulativ
EnglischBasis88kumulativ
Englisch  IBasis + 412kumulativ
Englisch  II (spez.)I + 820kumulativ
FranzösischBasis88kumulativ
ItalienischBasis1010kumulativ
Italienisch  IBasis + 515kumulativ
JapanischBasis1616kumulativ
PolnischBasis1010kumulativ
PortugiesischBasis88kumulativ
Portugiesisch  IBasis + 412kumulativ
RussischBasis1616kumulativ
SchwedischBasis84kumulativ
Schwedisch  IBasis + 412kumulativ
SpanischBasis88kumulativ
Spanisch  IBasis + 412kumulativ
Spanisch  III + 820kumulativ

 

 

UMFANG DER UNICERT®-PRÜFUNGEN

Am Leibniz Language Centre erfolgt der Erwerb von UNIcert®-Zertifikaten ausschließlich kumulativ. Das bedeutet, die Prüfungsleistungen, die zum Erwerb eines Stufenzertifikats erworben werden müssen, können durch eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme an den Semesterabschlussprüfungen ("Scheine") in den speziell für das UNIcert®-Ausbildungsprogramm akkreditierten Kursen gesammelt werden. Dabei sind zwei wesentliche Punkte zu beachten:

Erstens müssen alle relevanten Fertigkeiten durch die kumulativ erworbenen Prüfungsleistungen abgedeckt werden. Das bedeutet, es müssen Prüfungsleistungen

  • im Leseverstehen,
  • im Hörverstehen,
  • im Schriftlichen Ausdruck sowie
  • im Mündlichen Ausdruck

vorgelegt werden. Dabei werden alle vier Fertigkeiten gleich gewichtet. Die Zertifikatsnote ergibt sich somit aus dem arithmetischen Mittel der vier Einzelbewertungen. In allgemeinsprachlichen Kursen kann die Beurteilung der mündlichen Leistung durch die Beteiligung im Unterricht erfolgen. Informationen hierzu können bei dem jeweiligen Kursleiter bzw. der jeweiligen Kursleiterin erfragt werden. Zweitens sollte der Zeitraum zwischen der ersten und der letzten erworbenen Prüfungsleistung einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren nicht überschreiten.

Nähere Informationen können der UNIcert®-Ausbildungs- und Prüfungsordnung des Leibniz Language Centre entnommen werden. Sobald alle Anforderungen zum Erwerb eines UNIcert®-Stufenzertifikats erfüllt worden sind, kann ein Antrag auf Zertifizierung beim UNIcert®-Prüfungsausschuss gestellt werden. Nachweise über die erfüllten Voraussetzungen sind hierbei in Kopie beizulegen.

QUEREINSTIEG IN DAS AUSBILDUNGSPROGRAMM

Prinzipiell ist ein Quereinstieg in das Ausbildugsprogramm ist prinzipiell möglich. Dazu müssen bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein.

Quereinstieg in die Sprachen Deutsch (als Fremdsprache), Englisch und Spanisch

In den Sprachen Deutsch (als Fremdsprache), Englisch und Spanisch muss vor der Auswahl eines geeigneten Sprachkurses ein Einstufungstest absolviert werden. Anhand des Ergebnisses dieses Einstufungstests wird das Einstiegsnivau für das UNIcert® Ausbildungsprogramm festgelegt. Wenn man ein UNIcert® Zertifikat auf dieser Niveaustufe erwerben möchte, müssen vor dem Antrag auf Zertifizierung mindestens 50% der Leistungsanforderungen am Fachsprachenzentrum absolviert worden sein. 

Beispiel: Eine Studentin oder ein Student möchte in Spanisch ein Zertifikat auf der Stufe UNIcert® I (entspricht B1 gemäß dem GER) absolvieren. Der Einstufungstest hat ergeben, dass die Studentin oder der Student bereits das Niveau B1 erreicht hat. Damit entfällt für sie oder ihn die Verpflichtung, die für UNIcert® Basis erforderlichen 8 SWS zu absolvieren. Von den weiteren mindestens 4 SWS, die notwendig sind für eine Zertifizierung auf der Stufe UNIcert® I, muss die Studentin oder der Student mindestens 2 SWS am Leibniz Language Centre absolvieren, um einen  Antrag auf Zertifizierung auf der Stufe UNIcert® I stellen zu können. Hierbei ist zu beachten, dass akkreditierte Kurse ausschließlich in dem ausgeschriebenen Umfang wahrgenommen werden dürfen. Die Teilnahme an einem "halben" vierstündigen Kurs ist nicht möglich, um die Anforderungen zu erfüllen.

Quereinstieg in allen weiteren Sprachen

In allen weiteren Sprachen ist ein Quereinstieg in das Ausbildungsprogramm zum Beispiel durch die Vorlage von Bescheinigungen/Zertifikaten bzw. nach dem Absolvieren eines Einstufungstests möglich, der entsprechende Vorkenntnisse bestätigt. Diese Bescheinigungen können sein:

  • Leistungsbescheinigungen aus vorangegangenen Kursen des Leibniz Language Centre
  • Leistungsbescheinigungen aus akkreditierten UNIcert®-Kursen des Leibniz Language Centre  
  • UNIcert®-Leistungen von anderen akkreditierten Universitäten und Hochschulen

Im dritten Fall erfolgt eine Überprüfung und eine Einzelfallentscheidung durch den UNIcert®-Prüfungsausschuss. Ein Anspruch auf Anerkennung anderer Vorleistungen besteht nicht.

Eine Liste mit geeigneten Online-Einstufungstests von externen Anbietern haben wir für Sie zusammengestellt: Online-Einstufungstest von externen Anbietern

KOSTEN FÜR EINE AUSBILDUNG UND ZERTIFIZIERUNG

Die Teilnahme an einem für UNIcert® akkreditierten Kurs ist für Studierende der Leibniz Universität Hannover kostenlos. Die Kursteilnahme beinhaltet den Erwerb einer Bescheinigung. Hier wird zwischen zwei Arten von Bescheinigungen unterschieden: eine Teilnahmebescheinigung und eine Leistungsbescheinigung. Für den späteren Antrag auf die Ausstellung eines UNIcert®-Zertifikats ist die Vorlage von entsprechenden Leistungsbescheinigungen obligatorisch. Für die Ausstellung eines UNIcert®-Zertifikats fällt eine Verwaltungsgebühr an, deren Höhe der Entgeltordnung des Leibniz Language Centre in ihrer aktuellsten Version entnommen werden kann. 

WO WIRD UNICERT® ANERKANNT?

Zwischen den akkreditierten UNIcert®-Einrichtungen besteht eine Vereinbarung zur gegenseitigen Anerkennung im Rahmen des Ausbildungs- und Zertifizierungssystems. Derzeit sind rund 50 Bildungseinrichtungen in Deutschland sowie vier weitere im (benachbarten) Ausland für UNIcert® akkreditiert (Stand: August 2019).

Eine Anerkennungspflicht im Rahmen des sprachlichen Hochschulzugangs besteht unter den Einrichtungen jedoch nicht. Ob UNIcert® im Rahmen einer Bewerbung um einen Studienplatz als geeigneter Sprachnachweis akzeptiert wird, kann bei der jeweiligen Hochschule erfragt werden.

ANTRAG AUF AUSSTELLUNG EINES UNICERT®-ZERTIFIKATS

Sobald Sie kumulativ alle erforderlichen Leistungsnachweise aus akkreditierten UNIcert®-Kursen gemäß der aktuell gültigen UNIcert©-Ausbildungs- und Prüfungsordnung des Leibniz Language Centre gesammelt haben, können Sie sich Ihre erworbenen hochschulspezifischen Sprachkenntnisse durch ein entsprechendes UNIcert®-Stufenzertifikat bestätigen zu lassen.

UNIcert®-Zertifikat